Showing posts with label Example of Break Even. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Example of Break Even. Show all posts

Monday, 22 December 2014

Example of Desired Profit

Example of Desired Profit

In the below example it is explained that how with the help of break even formula the desired profit level can be calculated. To calculate the desired profit volume simply the desired profit is added to the fixed cost and divided by the unit contribution.

Formula for desired profit level

= (Fixed Cost + Desired profit)/unit contribution

Example of Desired Profit

Sale price per unit
200
Direct Material per unit
60
Skilled Labour (Direct)
30
Factory Overheads
30
Factory Fixed Cost
40,000
Desired profit
60,000

Calculate the sale volume to achieve a profit of 50,000?

Solution

Step 1 calculate unit contribution

Sale price

200
Variable cost
(60+30+30)
120
Unit Contribution
(200-120)
80

Step 2 calculate the desired profit volume

Fixed Cost+ Desired Profit
60,000+40,000
100,000
Unit contribution

80
Desired profit volume
100,000/80
1250

Check

Unit
Rate

Sales
1250
200
250,000
Variable Cost
1250
120
150,000
Contribution


100,000
Fixed cost


(40,000)
Desired Profit


60,000



Example of break even

Example of break even

Break even is a point where the organization is able to recover its fixed cost only and therefore this is no profit no loss situation. There are two methods of calculating the break even point i.e.

Formula for break even

Break even point = Fixed Cost / unit contribution

Example of Break even

Unit Sale Price
120
Unit Material Price
60
Unit Labour
20
Unit Overheads costs
20
Fixed asset
60,000
Calculate break even


Solution

Step 1 Calculate unit contribution

Sale price

120
Variable cost
(60+20+20)
100
Unit Contribution
(120-100)
30

Step 2 calculate breakeven point

Fixed cost

60,000
Break even
60,000/20
3000 units

Check the breakeven point

unit
Rate

Sales
3000
120
360,000
Variable Cost
3000
100
300,000
Contribution


60,000
Fixed cost


(60,000)
Profit


0






In above example it is explained that when 3000 units are sold then there is no profit no loss situation which is technically knows as breakeven point. The above explained method of break even calculation is known as volume based break even i.e. break even volume is calculated or break even is calculated first in term of volume and then it is converted into amount.

Thursday, 18 December 2014

Example of Contribution to Sales Ratio

Example of Contribution to Sales Ratio

There are two method of calculating the break even point. In this method break even is calculated directly in term of amount.

Formula

Break Even = Fixed Cost/ Contribution to sales ratio

Example of break even

Unit Sale Price
40
Variable cost
25
Fixed Cost (Rent)
50,000



Calculate break even by using contribution to sale ratio

Solution

Step 1 Calculate the Unit Contribution

 Contribution to sale ratio is calculated by subtracting the unit variable cost from the unit sale value.

Unit Sales
40
Less: Unit Variable Cost
(25)
Unit Contribution
15

Step 2 Calculate the contribution to sales ratio

Contribution to sale ration is calculated by dividing the unit sales by unit contribution.

Contribution/Sales
15/40
37.5%

Step 3 Calculate the break even Sales

Break even point is calculated in term of sales by dividing the fixed cost by contribution to sales ratio.

Fixed Cost/Contribution to sale Ratio
 50,000/.375
133,333


The number of unit required to be sold to achieve break even sales may be calculated by dividing the break even sales with unit sales price i.e. 133,333/ 40 = 3,333 units